Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Walther PPS mag release technique ?

Feedback Score
    10 (100%)

Walther PPS mag release technique ?

What is your technique for a reliable and speedy mag release. For instance the FAST drill. shoot two / change mag / shoot 4

The manual shows a strong hand index finger press. I really can't seem to do that.

The only reasonable thing I can come up with is weak hand thumb transitions from pointing forward to curling down while the hand moves down and mag is released as part of the movement to grab the next mag.

Does this sound reasonable? Any better ideas? I can't think of anything that would require less mechanics and movement, plus this keeps the weapon at eye level and always on target.

It's what I'm going to practice unless someone has a better technique I should try.

Feedback Score
    I am curious about this as well. I have little experience on H&K/Walther lever-style magazine releases but the experience that I do have was mostly confusing.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Hmmm, I've had my share of *other* issues with my PPS but have no issue using my trigger finger to hit the mag release. In fact, once I became accustomed to it I was faster with it than any other mag release. On the HK45 I use my thumb as it never felt natural to curl my finger back to hit the strong sideof the ambi mag release. On the Walther though I simply move slightly outside the trigger guard and press down. Feels very natural.
    "Eyes have been referred to as the window to the soul, we prefer to think of them as the funnel to the brain." - Mike Shertz, MD
    "Every trigger has a match trigger at the end of all the bullshit.” - Greg Hamilton

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I use my middle finger from my primary hand, works very well for me, YMMV.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I have owned several P99s over the years, as well as several HKs.