Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Piston or Gas?

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

Piston or Gas?

Im not new to firearms but new to the AR, which brings me to my question. What are the pros of a straight gas tube system versus the gas piston system? I know the straight gas is dirtier while the piston is cleaner, but thats about it, i have no experience with the pistons. Is their really a difference in accuracy, or realiability? or is it just a matter of preference? Im building my first AR and havnt bought an upper so help me out here
    "Calling an illegal alien an undocumented immigrant is like calling a drug dealer an unlicensed pharmacist"

If you can't get behind our troops feel free to stand in front of them

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Pistons are way too problematic. They're a solution to a problem that's really been exagerated big time.

Feedback Score
    11 (100%)
    If you have to ask....then standard gas. I wouldn't look into the piston until I was familiar enough with the system to understand why, how, and "if" i might benefit from it. Plus as markm said there are still a lot of different versions and bugs to be worked out. If you're building your first AR, then go gas, and a piston version might make a great 4th or 5th AR for your collection.
    --Josh H.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by markm View Post
    Pistons are way too problematic. They're a solution to a problem that's really been exagerated big time.
    So there's no real reason to buy a piston upper? For my first anyway? If you would please state the common problems they cause. I honestly don't know.
    Last edited by dmanflynn; 04-21-09 at 08:41.
    "Calling an illegal alien an undocumented immigrant is like calling a drug dealer an unlicensed pharmacist"

If you can't get behind our troops feel free to stand in front of them

Feedback Score
    LWRC, LMT pistons are not so problematic as people may believe. They are GTG.