Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AR-15 vs Shotgun inside a residence?

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)

AR-15 vs Shotgun inside a residence?

My Dept. is finally getting me authorized on the patrol rifle this month. I love the AR platform and have used it for several years.

That said, I think I might still grab the 870 when clearing a house. On a barricaded gunman, or similar run where we are working a perimeter the rifle will come out no question, but inside a house I think the buckshot might still be a better option.

PLEASE NOTE: My dept ONLY authorizes Federal TRU 55gr hollowpoints in our rifles. We took a next to perfect 25yrd headshot with this round last winter and it just followed the outside of his skull and exited behind his ear. He is still walking around today. Our administration will not change our load, at least not anytime soon.

Opinions Please.

Feedback Score
    When I was a rookie we had a hostage standoff. At the time, we only had six rifles and they were all assigned to other officers. We also didn't have a SWAT team and had to rely on other agencies. I was stationed outside the house with a shotgun.

We got everyone out except for one hostage and the situation turned to shit. The closest SWAT officer was still 15 minutes away. Next thing I knew, I was doing a forced entry into the house and I was on point. I came around the corner and the suspect was standing behind the hostage with a long kitchen knife. He had it up in the air like he was going to plunge it into her. I had a clear shot for just a moment but didn't take it because I realized I was armed with the wrong weapon and could not garantee the hostage would not be hit. Before I transitioned to my handgun, the suspect hid behind the hostage and I no longer had the shot. Luckily we were able to get close enough to the suspect, rushed him and freed the hostage. The only injuries were to the suspect but two of us had to go through six months of testing due to blood exposure from the suspect.